Dating 101

First wanted to say that I have been gone for a bit and kind of like the new WordPress layout. I hope they have not changed too much.

Single and Dating…

Not me…  I am attached to the love of my life and whether he knows it or not, I am his life-long appendage.

My best girl buddy Kelley is single and she loves to share her dating adventures with me.  Kelley is a beautiful, independent young woman. She has no trouble getting dates. Her problem is being asked out on a second date.

Actually, it is not much of a problem to her as she has not been very impressed with the first dates lately. (I think she is content with being single and only goes on dates for entertainment at her date’s expense.)

Last night Kelley was on a big girl – play dress up – classy restaurant type date.  Her date was waiting at the restaurant when she arrived. He graciously pulled out her chair and made sweet attempts to make her feel special.

Kelley threw out some witty conversation starters (that is what she called them, but I am a bit skeptical because she loves to throw out gems that leave a person wondering WTH?)

Kelly said her date began to squirm in his chair so she took off her metaphoric boxing gloves and asked him straight out, “Why are you so nervous? Just be yourself. Most people try too hard and at the end of the night are left standing there with their dick in their hand, so-to-speak.”

She said the guy turned beet red and asked her to please refrain from being so crass.

And Kelley, being Kelley said… “Sure, but if you want this date to progress in a more positive manner you might want to pull the stick out of your ass.”

Of course I had to ask her how her date responded to that gem…

Kelly said that she was actually surprised when he got up and left the restaurant. She thought this one might actually have a bit of spunk.

She asked me, “Do you think he is going to call me back for a second date?”

23 Responses to “Dating 101”

  1. LL Says:

    I love her already!!

  2. boundandgags Says:

    That’s awesome. His loss. Stuck-up dweeb needed a little stick twisting. I bet he made a special appointment with his therapist today. If ya can’t like ’em, snipe ’em!

  3. Sarah Says:

    *hysterical laughter*

    She’s great. If I hadn’t evolved into being someone like her already, she would totally be my role model.

  4. glassowater Says:

    I think I dated her…. 🙂

  5. thegirlfromtheghetto Says:

    Ha ha ha … I love a crass lady. Good thing that stick left!

  6. trishatruly Says:

    Kelly sounds a wee bit intimidating…to the LOSERS!
    When she finds one that zings it back to her she’ll be a total goner!

  7. Just a Mom Says:

    Hmm, I should have acted more like her when I was dating. It would have solved so many problems! 🙂

  8. Omnibus Driver Says:

    No offense, but it sounds to me like she punishes her current dates for the sins of a past love. Sorry, but completely uncool. If she doesn’t like or respect these guys, why the hell does she accept their invitations in the first place.

    Quite frankly, it’s women like her that make dating hell for the rest of us. If she’s not interested, she should just say no to the first date. Geeze.

  9. Nancy France Says:

    It sounds like your friend is going to end up alone and wondering why no guy that doesn’t want to use her like a plastic blowup doll will have anything to do with her.

    She’s treating the guys she’s going out with as if they were sex toys with a wallets attached.

  10. glassowater Says:

    Nancy – wait a minute, we (men) are NOT sex toys with wallets trying to negotiate someone out of their pants via alcohol and fine dining? Damn, my whole concept of dating has just been blown to bits!
    *kidding* 🙂

  11. Peter Parkour Says:

    Merry Christmas, BetMe! 😀

  12. romi41 Says:

    hahaaha….I would date her 😉 …and Happy New Year! 🙂

  13. Lucky Says:

    She is my hero.

  14. thegirlfromtheghetto Says:

    I hope you come back!!!

  15. Laying A Blog Says:

    Where are these women? I want to meet one who’ll challenge me in this fashion.

  16. trishatruly Says:

    Missing you!!! I hope you’re well. Come back soon!

  17. UkrainianGirls Says:

    I think that it is a very interesting and amusing article. Practically all its main points are true.

  18. Greg Says:

    I think the guy was so uptight that a nail couldn’t have been hammered up his butt, much less have a stick there.

  19. Shweta Says:

    Got give Kelley my props! I woulda just laughed, she sounds hilarious!!!

  20. Tasneem R Says:

    great! hilarious! your friend Kelly must be really pretty looking that’s why she has been on soooo many dates as you mentioned…. !
    Take this short test to see how you score on the Dating Barometer.
    http://www.3smartcubes.com/pages/tests/datingdelight/datingdelight_instructions.asp

  21. Jacob Bradley Says:

    Great post, glad I found this blog. 🙂

  22. totaldrugs Says:

    Most skilfully stake to stumble on economical and noble deal to on nice price for pills in USA – online peach on http://zyprexa-bestbuy.freehostia.com – HERE

  23. Vodka and Ground Beef Says:

    I need some of Kelly’s hoot-spa. Usually I last the entire God awful, boring date.

Leave a comment