Doing a Drive-by

Howdy Peeps…

Live is a highway… And I have been caught in the fast lane for the past few months.

Here is a recap of sorts:

Hurricane Ike blew through (pics will follow as soon as I find my camera… I promise)

Wait! I have one pic on this computer.

Bosss Truck in the canal

Boss's Truck in the canal

We only had to go a few days without water and a couple more without power… Other than that it was not too bad. I did have the opportunity to cook gourmet dinners on the bar-b-q pit. Yummy red beans and rice, chicken grilled every way imaginable, and a delightful peach cobbler in the dutch oven.

We called our adventure; Camping in The Hood

Others did not have it so good. Temper flew as mental midgets could not fathom the concept of a Four-Way stop. After dealing with one too many morons, I coined the term PDD. Personality Deficit Disorder… A condition conducive to riots.

We got to actually use the generator and eat some of our emergency food. (The twinkies and champagne will need to be restocked) And I did not have to shoot any looters… So, all in all it was not too bad.

On a very HAPPY note: We moved into our Dream Home!

Β 

The J Family Abode

The J Family Abode

Β 

Yesterday after work I raked leaves… In my front yard… and I didn’t have to pack my gun! It is incredible to be able to work and play in my own yard without the fear of being attacked. Every day I come home change into my play clothes and roll around in the yard…

And… last week the appliance guy stood me up, leaving me with a dishasher and wine cooler in the middle of my kitchen. So, I did what any semi-sane woman would have done. I installed them myself.

Actually, the main reason that I installed them was because Mr. J gave me specific orders not to do it. And, well……… I am a rebel and get a tad bit persnickety when Mr. J talks to me like I am five years old.

)

My new kitchen... (yes, the dishwasher REALLY works) πŸ™‚

Hopefully, I will get back into the hang of posting. I will be swinging by and catching up on all of my reading over the next couple days.

Big Hugs to all! (thanks for the notes and emails… Ya’ll ROCK!

I almost forgot (again). You know you are getting old when you forget birthdays… Is it dementia when you forget your own? I had no idea it was my birthday today until a friend called. D’oh

17 Responses to “Doing a Drive-by”

  1. Taoist Biker Says:

    Woohoo, she lives!

    Happy birthday, congratulations on the house, and fertheluvvaGawd, don’t let my wife see that kitchen or she’ll lapse into one of her crazed house-hunting modes again. πŸ˜€

    Yeppers I am alive. πŸ˜‰

    I have a problem… whenever someone says ‘don’t’, I usally do. I am trying to fight the urge, but I just happen to know your wife’s blog site… fighting…. OK, I will behave. The kitchen is what sold me on the house. After we called our agent and made an offer, my hubby asked me questions about the rest of the house and I could not remember a thing. BUT, I could tell him the exact layout of the kitchen.

  2. joanharvest Says:

    Happy Birthday and wow, I have missed you!! So happy to see you back. That’s tough about Ike but wonderful about your beautiful new home. Your kitchen is wonderful. And to think you don’t have to pack a gun anymore. Way to go!!

    I’ll be looking forward to more posts from you.

    Thanks Joan. I have missed all of you as well. I still pack a gun out of habbit, but it is nice to no longer be looking over my shoulder all of the time.

  3. Just a Mom Says:

    Welcome back and Happy Birthday! You were truly missed!

    I love the new house! Congrats!

    You need to swing by and have lunch with me… I’ll even let you roll in the leaves.

  4. kaylee2 Says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!! GOD I MISSED YOU!!!! but now I have to leave 😦 For a bone marrow transplant 😦

    congrats on the nw house
    Kaylee… Big hugs and happy thoughts as you head into surgery.

  5. Peter Parkour Says:

    I’ve missed you so. As Just A Mom said, welcome back and Happy Birthday. My what a beautiful house you have. Are you still living in the same area, or did you move to a new town, city, or maybe even a new state??? πŸ™‚ I’m so glad to hear things are looking up for you, and looking forward to hearing and seeing more. πŸ˜€

    Spidey ~ we are in the same delightful city, in the same delightful state. BUT, we moved further out. We are now on the edge of Houston rather than the heart. It is amazingly calm on the edge.

  6. DNR Says:

    Happy Birthday Lady!!
    Ahem… *clears throat and hums pitch*

    HBTY
    HBTY
    HBD B
    HBTY

    AM M

    Glad you and yours faired Ike well. And a big congrats on the new (very beautiful) digs!! a build in wine cooler… how ’bout that.

    See you around.

    Aw shucks… I appreciate the Birthday song. You have a delightful internet typed voice.

  7. mistermanly Says:

    Hi B,

    It’s good to know you’re doing well. Ike was definitely a scare, but at least it mostly missed NOLA. On the up side, our son evacuated to the safety of home for almost a week, along with 15 of his closest friends. That was a great good time.

    Nice kitchen. Great counter space.

    Mister Manly

    Whoa! 16 younguns holed up at your place? That makes me tired just thinking about it. Actuall, it sounds kind of cool… all the animated chatter of young minds.

  8. DNR Says:

    Aaahhh, but you are worthy!
    Hugs to you and yours too.

    πŸ˜‰ I have really missed my Internet friends

  9. trishatruly Says:

    THANK GOD YOU”RE BACK!!! All is right with the world again! Don’t EVER scare me like that again, ya hear?

    Seriously though– HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!! I cannot imagine forgetting my own birthday. Well, at my age that would be a blessing but it could never happen. So how are you celebrating? I’m guessing wine is involved?
    That is one amazing and gorgeous house you got there , Sweetness! I am SO relieved you are out of the ghetto and somewhere safe!! YAY! I can rest easier at night!
    I am so happy to read this post. Welcome home.

    Oh thank you my Internet Sis. It feels good to be back home on the Web.

    With J being in an accident we did not get any celebrating in. Hopefully we will have a nice dinner followed by some nice (censored) activities this weekend. Ya’ll don’t want all the planned details. πŸ˜‰ I simply adore our new home and almost feel guilty living in a place that makes me so happy.

  10. msmollie Says:

    Soo glad you’re back and your home is WOW!!! Happy birthday!!!

    Thanks Mollie. By the way, I love your Avatar pic.

  11. betme Says:

    Thanks for the warm welcome back. πŸ™‚

  12. Red Says:

    happy birthday, Woman!!!!
    Loooove your kitchen . .

  13. Don Smith Says:

    I have, steadfast refused to remove my RSS Feed to your site, figuring that sooner or later, you might return. Imagine my surprise when it showed you had new input at your location, I was to say the least, stunned.

    Welcome back and good luck in your new locale.

    DS

  14. the Grit Says:

    Hi B,

    You should hear it when their cell phones start going off.

    the Grit

  15. romi41 Says:

    Welcome back and I’m so, so glad you got your dream home and are out of the ‘hood! Go play in that front yard all you want!! πŸ™‚

  16. Sarah Says:

    Hooray! I was worried about you. The new house is beautiful. Congratulations!!!!

  17. Allison Says:

    Welcome back and wowzer about the new home!!!! Love, love, love the kitchen counters.

Leave a Reply

