Drugs are Bad, mkay…

For the past three days I have been on mega doses of Benadryl, fighting an allergic reaction to pineapple juice.

*Note to self – When someone says they don’t think a particular food is in something that they want to sell, walk away. No, run away… What they really mean is that it probably is in their product, but they really need to sell their shit and your possible death should not get in the way of them making a sale.

I knew better than to sample something if I was not positive of the contents, yet I took a swig.

Sunday I was in the ER getting diphenhydramine injected into my butt cheek to stop the swelling of my bronchial tissues. It also worked wonders on the itchy eye lids, throat, ears, lips, nose, fingers, stomach…

Today, I am still taking Benadryl but in smaller doses… It is the side effects that are tough to deal with.

The Head Aches, Chills, and Dry Mouth; I can handle it…

The Dizziness, Confusion, and Sleepiness; Well, that is me on a regular basis…

BUT—– The Nausea andIRRITABILITY (bet you couldn’t tell I have been irritable lately…) have been hell for me and those in close contact with me. By the way, puking only makes me more grumpy.

Yes, Drugs are bad… even when they are prescribed. The good news is, tomorrow is my last day on the Benadryl and just maybe… I won’t puke or bite Mr. J’s head off on the way to the cabin.

Poor Mr. J… I might need to stop by the toy store and pick up some of those yummy eddible undies for the trip. Of course his cannot be flavored with pineapple.

At the end of this  clip  Jon Stewart shares a tip on enjoying edible underwear.

8 Responses to “Drugs are Bad, mkay…”

  1. Girly Says:

    “The best part about edible underwear is that whatever part you don’t eat, you can wrap up in tin foil for later.” 😆 eww.

    Benedryl has terrible side effects!! But, at least it’s better than having your bronchials close up! Feel better… have fun this weekend and stay away from pineapple juice!

    Off to find some edible undies…. 🙂

  2. Taoist Biker Says:

    It’s moments like these that I am thrilled that I don’t have food allergies!

    Hope you’re sufficiently recovered before your long sojourn alone with the Mr.!

  3. mistermanly Says:

    Hi b,

    Don’t feel too bad about having to take the occasional dose of medicine. I start each morning with a fist full of pills of sufficient number and size as to constitute breakfast for a normal person. I hope you feel better soon. Looking on the bright side, at least you won’t have to fear chance encounters with wild pineapples on your camping trip.

    Mister Manly

  4. kaylee2 Says:

    OMG ARE YOU OK?

  5. Allison Says:

    My dog is on benedryll almost year-round for allergies. Maybe that’s why she is a bitch.

  6. Sarah Says:

    Holy crap! I take Bendadryl all summer for my hay fever and other various summer allergies, but we must be taking different kinds because I have never felt like that. Just sleepy as hell, which is why I tend to take it at night before I go to bed. Poor thing, hope you’re feeling better.

  7. betme Says:

    Girly ~ Jon Stewart is so funny. I hope you found a delicious pair or two.

    Taoist B ~ Crazy thing is my allergies just crept up on me the past couple years. 😦 Oh well, I can still eat chocolate.

    Mr. Manly ~ I do not envy you and your breakfast pill ritual. Thanks for helping me see the bright side and reminding me that I would be safe from the killer pineapples. 😀

    Kaylee ~ Yes, I survived another fun one.

    Allison ~ I spit my coffee out while reading your comment. So funny and quite possibly true.

    Sarah ~ Mr. J takes it all the time as well and has no crazy side effects. I do notice that he becomes snippy if he takes them too many days in a row. But, that is it. I take the little pink ones… Benadryl Allergy – 2 pills for a total of 50mg when I have a bad reaction. I carry a bottle with me all the time, just in case.

  8. Peter Parkour Says:

    I am glad to hear that you are not dead, because that would suck, and you’d be dead, and that would be the sucky part, don’tcha know. 😛 I’m way late on reading this so hopefully this comment finds you fully rested, recharged and 100% in the health department. 😉 Take care.

Leave a Reply

