31 Flavors

Here is an update rolled into a post of sorts…

 

My gorgeous son, also known in some circles as Romi’s future husband, is comfortably settled at the J house.

 

I remember when he was a toddler and I anxiously waited for him to learn to talk. When the words began they NEVER stopped. On long car trips I would bribe him with McDonalds if he could stop talking for five frickin minutes. It nearly made his head explode, but he was able to refrain and win his Happy Meal.

 

Then he grew up and went to war. My home was so quiet… eerie silence hung from the walls. I craved his phone calls from the other side of the world and hung on every syllable.

 

WELL, he is home… And the nonstop chatter is once again bouncing from every corner. I adore my son and love his wit. He is a frickin walking encyclopedia of knowledge. Name a subject and he spits out the data. This is all cool… to a point. But, Oh My Hell, I think my eyeballs are bleeding. I am now suffering from severe sensory overload. The chatter never stops.

 

I am going to see if he can once again be bought off with a Happy Meal.  

 

Don’t get me wrong, I wouldn’t trade him for the world, I just need to adjust to the constant motion from his corner.

 

I have also given up running around the house in my bra and panties (or less). I think it would be cruel and unusual punishment to subject a grown child to all his momma’s jiggly parts unclothed. I don’t want him to be scarred.

 

He has introduced me to the series “Heroes” which I had previously written off without even a glimpse.  I am now a Heroes addict and have watched six episodes in two days… I will be watching the remaining episodes of season one this weekend.

 

And…

 

Last night in bed, I climbed over Mr. J to check the setting on the alarm clock. I just happened to be naked and he just happened to be naked and I was being a bit of a tease…

 

Somehow or other, I must have put pressure on my stomach or something… and I threw up in my mouth a little. There I was laying naked across my husband, trying my best to regain control over a bad situation… He looked concerned and asked if I was ok.

 

I quietly explained what had just happened and then proceeded to laugh hysterically.

 

It just hit me in a funny way… I use that expression from the movie “Dodge Ball” all the time. It was ironic that when I actually did throw up in my mouth, I was trying to get a rise out of Mr. J.

 

His response… “Before I met you, I had no idea that crazy comes in 31 flavors.”

15 Responses to “31 Flavors”

  1. TracyS Says:

    LOL I like Mr. J’s response!

    I am so glad to know that I am not the only one with a boy that talks non-stop. Except I have that problem X2! When we are driving somewhere I just say “uh huh” every few minutes, but inside my head I am chanting “shut up, shut up, shut up FOR ONE MINUTE” LOLOLOLOLOL

  2. TracyS Says:

    Oh, and I meant to say that I’m glad your son is home! :o)

  3. Just a Mom Says:

    Now that I have stopped laughing at the visual you gave…
    Glad your son is home for you to enjoy! Give him a great big thank you from me for his service!

  4. joanharvest Says:

    Even with all the chatter you must be so glad to have him home safe and sound (a lot of sound). Does he have to go back? I have heard that Heroes is great. I’m saving to buy the first season. Yes, Thank you son for going over there. He must be very brave.

  5. mistermanly Says:

    Hi b,

    “Heroes” is a great series. You, however, made the right decision in not watching it one week at a time. It’s much too good for that, and for the next installment is not fun. You might want to take a look at “Jericho” when you get time.

    Mister Manly

  6. Allison Says:

    I think you might have something with the Happy Meal bribery. If it can stop chattering, what other behaviors could it modify if properly harnessed?

    Mr. J’s line is classic. And now I want ice cream.

  7. Paperspoons Says:

    You just crack me up! I decided when my oldest reached the age of 3, and was giggling and pointing, that he was getting a bit old to still see his mama’s jiggly parts. I sure do miss running around the house nude. 🙂

    Glad to see your son is home.

  8. Red Says:

    MMm .. vomit. Sexy.
    Your son is awesome. What a good boy . . or, man, rather. Im sure you’re right proud of what he’s become!!
    Thank him for his service. Im so glad he came home in one piece!

  9. Sarah Says:

    Ah yes, throw up in the mouth, the perfect way to ruin a good time.
    I’m so happy for you and your family that your son is home.

  10. K. Trainor Says:

    I can attest that A: Girls do the same non-stop chatter and B: They can’t be bought with a happy meal, but ice cream works wonders.

    I’m so happy your son is home! I hope you visit ebay to buy a Cone of Silence! 😀

  11. romi41 Says:

    Oh my goodness, I am SO happy to hear your wonderful son and my possible future hubby is safe and sound! 🙂 And wait a minute…if he’s a super-talker, and I’M a super-talker….hmmm…suddenly I think you might have to reconsider me as daughter-in-law material, hahaha 😉

  12. betme Says:

    Tracy ~ hahaha… you have the chatter in stereo! The ‘uh-huh’ thing won’t work because he is asking me questions (which he already knows the answer) to see if I can keep up with him. I CAN’T and have called mercy…

    It is like this;

    Mom, who is the running back for LSU?
    Me: Uh, I am not sure. I will need to look up the roster.

    Mom, LSU is one of the teams you follow… You have to know this guy, he is the fastest guy in the SEC.

    Me: Can I buy a vowel? 😀

    JAMom ~ Thanks… He is officially hugged.

    Joan ~ yes, I am very happy to have him home, chatter and all. No, he does not have to go back… (unless he signed up for the National Guard instead of the Reserves… ) If he signed up for National Guard, there is a 45-50 percent chance he will go back. I don’t know which one he signed up for because the terd keeps telling me not to worry about it.

    About the first season of Heroes… I am sending you an email.

    Mr. Manly ~ I am on Heroes overload. I do not believe anyone should watch that many back-to-back episodes in one sitting. We only made it though episode 20 before my brain fried.

    I have heard good things about Jericho and will give it a shot soon. Thanks for the suggestion.

    Allison ~ Maybe we should try for some sort of Pavlovian results. Shake a Happy Meal box and wait for the quiet. 😉

    Paperspoons ~ It is fantastic to see you in the blogosphere again! I have missed you. Yes, there is nothing like a child’s giggle to have us covering ourselves from head to foot.

    Red ~ yeah, ummmm… the vomit is not quite as sexy as envisioned.
    We are happy he is in one piece as well. I love puzzles, but not with those made up of body parts.

    Sarah ~ Yeah, it was kind of a mood breaker.

    K ~ I had no idea that I could find possible find someone selling silence on EBay. I wonder if they would also sell me a slice of sanity?

    Romi ~ We might have a slight problem. I am not so worried about all the chatter that you and D would create… I am more worried that ya’ll might not stop talking long enough to produce me some wonderful grand-babies! If you two could figure that part out, your babies would probably pop out of you talking stats.

  13. Taoist Biker Says:

    I gotta say, I was starting to get a little concerned about where the story was going when you went from “son in the house” to “well, we were both nekkid…”

  14. alntv Says:

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHA! Dodgeball is one of my favorite flicks! And this is a funny blog! 🙂

  15. Peter Parkour Says:

    Welcome to the world of Heroes. 😉 I love that show. Great post crazy lady. 😛

Leave a Reply

