Rebel Without a Clue

Today’s post might be tough to follow as my thoughts are kind of flighty jumbled this morning. I am dealing with both inner and outside turmoil leaving my brain in utter chaos.

 

We have been throwing several ideas back and forth as to the location and type of home we want to move to. Ideally we would be living on our own back forty with a pool and plenty of room to stretch out.

 

However, if we opt for acreage we will only have enough left in the budget for a home like this:

 

Even that would beat the feeling which our neighborhood gives us that we are trapped in this:

 

 

Perhaps we will be able to find a quiet neighborhood something like this:

 

 

Stewing over the choices we took a break and watched one of my most favorite movies; “Rebel Without a Cause.”

 

The conflicts portrayed in the movie have lain heavy on me today, refusing to ease up.   

 

 

I spent the better part of the night researching the writing and directing of the movie. It is FACINATING stuff.

 

I especially love the words of the director, Nicholas Ray, who in speaking of James Dean said:

 

The conflict between giving himself and fear of giving in to his own feelings; a vulnerability so deeply embedded that one is instantly moved, almost disturbed by it.

 

… Adding to the already cluttered thoughts of the movie and finding the perfect home, are the anger and frustration felt when a ‘heffa’ (Texas ghetto slang for stupid ass bitch) tried not once, not twice, but three times to run Mr. J and me off the road last night. I could tell Mr. J’s blood pressure was elevating to a dangerous level. This woman tried repeatedly to ram the side of our car. We stopped to let her move on and she stopped and backed up to us. We took a few pictures of her erratic behavior and called the police. I have no idea if they did anything other than take our info… But, it was frustrating.

 

I did manage to chuckle under my breath when Mr. J said, “If she were a man I would beat the shit out of her.”

 

So today I am rebelling against life in general. There is nothing else for me to do because my mind is refusing to rationalize. How does a sensible business woman rebel the ass-backwardness of life? Shit, I do not have a clue. So I am rebelling via my wardrobe. Today there are no high heels, no fancy suits, no pantyhose… I am wearing saggy-baggy blue jeans and a uuber soft T-shirt.

 

Yes, I am sticking it to the establishment. I am a Rebel. A Rebel without a clue. All that I do know is I am not going to do it. I have absolutely no clue what it is I am not going to do, but no one is going to make me do whatever it is I am not going to do. I am serious… Well, kind of.

 

The Twisted Sister song just jumped into my head. “We’re Not Gonna Take It” …

 

This is an excellent theme song for the new rebel in me.

 

I wish I could write scripts for people’s lives and hand them to the cast to be acted out as written. I would hand the police their script today.

 

Act One; Scene One… (This is a short piece)

 

Police Officer knocking on the door of aforementioned ‘heffa’: Ma’am, we have been contacted by the Cracker Jacks Corporation and they have rescinded your driving privileges. You will need to hand over the license which they issued to you.

 

You have the right to remain silent. We are asking that you exercise this right. We do not want to hear your foul mouth. Do you understand? If you do not understand a roll of duct tape will be provided and applied.

 
 

 

Scene fades out…

… And another quote by Nicolas Ray:

“The imagination is a pretty precious source of protection.”

11 Responses to “Rebel Without a Clue”

  1. Just a Mom Says:

    I love Rebel Without A Cause! I am a James Dean junkie at heart.

    Hey, Ed McMahon’s house is up on foreclosure! You might want to check it out!

  2. joanharvest Says:

    “Rebel Without a Cause” is definitely a classic film. I have seen it quite a few times but not in a long time. I know that rebel feeling though, especially now that I live with my daughter and her hubby. Don’t get me wrong, I appreciate her saving my ass because I would have ended up homeless. But now my house is her house and she’s the boss. I love the fact that I can still live in my house but I gave up my freedom, in a way, to do it. She is easy to live with and let’s me do whatever I want, whenever I want. But it’s her house now, not mine and that’s when the rebel comes out in little ways like not changing the roll on the toilet paper holder. That’s why I am divorced because I treasure my freedom so much but now I even live with the wasband. I guess I am just not meant to have total freedom. I think my kids feel If I had total freedom I would become one of those bizarre eccentric old ladies which is probably going to happen anyway. HaHa! The jokes on them.

  3. Taoist Biker Says:

    I forget who suggested it, but I read once that everyone should have a dart gun turret on their car. When you see someone driving like an asshole, you nail ’em with a dart. Anyone driving around with three darts on their car gets their license suspended.

    I could go with that.

  4. MJ Says:

    My boyfriend (a cop) would say that there is not quite enough cussing in that scene. “You have the right to remain silent, anything you say will be stupid, and I reserve the right to slap you for it…”

    I can’t stand bad drivers, and I have been known to scream “crazy heffer!” at my windshield many a time. Oh and, Taoist, we have already suggested paintball guns to the state, preferably with neon, glow-in-the-dark paint.

    Happy Friday!

  5. mistermanly Says:

    Hi b,

    Assuming my experience taking care of over 100 acres in Tennessee translates to Texas, I’ll offer a bit of advice. If you go with the 40 acres and a shack, don’t forget the maintenance costs. You’ll have to splurge on a small tractor and bush hog, assuming that you don’t have the time and determination to cut the fields with hand tools, since a regular riding mower won’t last a month under that kind of work load. I recommend shelling out the extra money for the front loader option since there’s always something to lift or push around. Besides, that’s fun to play with. Of course, you’ll have to do all the maintenance on said tractor yourself, as Jiffy Lube doesn’t play that game.

    You’ll also need:

    a good chainsaw. I recommend a Stihl with an 18 inch bar.

    an ax, shovel, machete, etc.

    a very heavy duty weed eater with a solid blade instead of the fishing line

    tools to repair your fence line. These include a wire stretcher, post hole digger, fencing tool which combines pliers and hammer and wire cutter in one convenient item, and such. If you have the money, it’s a good idea to invest in a PTO powered post hole digger for the tractor.

    a pickup truck, preferably with four wheel drive.

    a variety of chains, ropes, tarps, and tie down straps.

    wielding equipment would be nice.

    And a building to store all that in.

    And people wonder why food costs so much.

    Mister Manly

  6. Sarah Says:

    It sounds like the “heffa” needed to have her ass beat. (I’m sorry, I’m in a bit of an angry place right now)

    I love Rebel Without a Cause and I am always amazed by how it can still make sense even today. Ain’t conflict a bitch?

    And personally, I think that the last house looks like the best one, not too big and definately not too small. 🙂

  7. Don Smith Says:

    I am going to the front door, right now, to see if it is locked. IF it is, I will then shut myself in the house for the entire weekend, and count my many blessings and NOT drive anywhere, anyplace, with or for, anyone.

    I dream of the day we can move, I do, all the time. Just the other day we actually found a house that we both agreed on and thought we might be able to afford.

    Unfortunately, the dog isn’t ready to move out of it just right now. We will have to wait.

    MisterManly is right, the only thing missing is the Blue Healer Dog in the back of the truck and the obligatory gun rack.

    DS

    DS

  8. Peter Parkour Says:

    When I started reading your script my mind went straight to good cop/bad cop, and bad cop stomped the shit out of that heffa. 😉 Good cop was busy getting her a cup of coffee and missed the whole thing, but upon he return he just knew damned good and well that that heffa must have initiated the assault on the other officer, so he joined in on the subduing of the heffa (surely hopped up on PCP). 😉 I just love a happy ending. :mrgreen:

  9. K. Trainor Says:

    *bows to the simple brilliance from Taoist Biker* I’d vote for that one in a heartbeat!

    Sorry to hear you had such a crazy day. Some days you just want to close your shades, lock your doors and eat ice cream. At least, some days I sure do!

  10. romi41 Says:

    “We do not want to hear your foul mouth. Do you understand? If you do not understand a roll of duct tape will be provided and applied.”…hahaha, I wanna see your kind of movie 🙂 , and PS: I will kick that heffa’s ass for you!!!!

  11. betme Says:

    JAMom ~ If I were to by Ed McMahon’s home I would need to have it delivered to Texas. I don’t think the citizens of Californication are ready for me.

    Joan ~ Give ‘em Hell! I understand what you are saying about not being married. If Mr. J were to ever pass, I would be infinitely single.

    Taoist B ~ The dart gun is an excellent idea. My little heffa friend would have her SUV plastered in darts before she crossed thru the intersection.

    MJ ~ I had some pretty colorful language in my original script but cleaned it up for network television. The glow-in-the-dark paint would be cool if they had their windows down!

    Mr Manly ~ I am a country girl who was transplanted into the city. I crave the hard, yet fulfilling life that the farm offered. At the end of the day, when you crawled between the sheets… every muscle aching from pulling tree stumps or buckin’ hay… You knew that you had just done an honest days work… and you knew contentment.

    Hand me a pair of calf skin gloves and a shovel. I think the back forty and I would be a pretty good match for each other.

    Sarah ~ Head over here with your bit of rage and help me stomp out ignorance. I like that last house as well. We found one similar to it in Houston this past weekend but it was already sold this morning. grrrrrr…..

    Don ~ I hope you and the Mrs. had a good weekend. You could always move here and help me combat the crazies in my hood.

    Spidey ~ You are right. I need to write in a bad cop. I will be sure to add you in the credits.

    K.T. ~ Ice cream!!!!!!!! It cannot be fattening when you need it for stress relief, right?

    Romi ~ I want to see your blog as a movie. Ps. I will keep on speed dial should the need arise again.

Leave a Reply

