Some More Me Stuff

I have mentioned before that when I am tagged for a meme I must do it or the guilt will eat away at what is left of my sanity. Being that I do not have enough left to play games with, I am FINALLY getting around to doing this…. A Two for One deal.

First I will start off with the Meme from My favorite Ghetto Girl Many of us in the blogosphere travel in the same circles visiting many of the same blogs. If you have never wandered to her site, ya need to spend a day or two and catch up on the posts from one terrific chickie!

I have held off on answering this particular meme because I am having trouble coming up with 6 interesting things about myself that I have not already shared. I will dig deep and see what I can find in my closet.

1. If Mr. J and I were to ever hit it big, as in multi-million dollar lottery type BIG. We would like to work with inner city kids. Offering guidance, places to hang out safely, and incentive to succeed via scholarships. I would like to find a way to break the cycle of the street thuggery mentality and Mr. J would be an awesome mentor.

2. I am a people watcher and love going to the mall, the library, the park, etc and watch people. I love to read their body language and try to figure out what is going on in their lives to make them seem so happy/sad/angry… etc.

3. When I am very angry I sweep. I start out sweeping the driveway, work my way down the sidewalk, and can be half-way around the block before I am able to wrap my head around an issue. When I lived up North I shoveled snow off of sidewalks in the same manner. I never want to be interrupted while I am mad sweeping as it will break up my thoughts and aggravate the situation.

4. When I lived in a small town I used to make baskets of cookies or muffins. I would set them on a shut-ins door step, ring the door bell and run and hide. I would add a “Have a Nice Day” note. I would peek from behind a bush and watch the little bit of happiness creep into their eyes. Living in the city, the recipient would be afraid to eat my treats and would probably call Homeland Security and have the treats analyzed for toxins. I miss the secret baskets of smiles.

5. Even though I want to move out of my Hood, I don’t want to move from my home. It is my comfort zone. I am not sure if it is the house itself or knowing that it is getting close to being paid off. I don’t want the debt and uncertainty that comes with a new home in a new neighborhood. (I am still trying to figure out a good way to just send the thugs packing)

6. I detest all holidays. I love giving gifts but hate having others feel pressured to reciprocate. I think small gifts from the heart, given randomly thru the year is a much better idea. But, I don’t want anyone to feel cheated that they did not get a gift on a particular holiday… Most holidays have lost all original meanings. I wish we could erase them and start fresh. Small meaningful gifts from the heart. Spending thousands for Christmas is just insane.

The second meme is from  Joan Harvest

1. Last movie you saw in a theater?

Street Kings… It was ok, predictable, but entertaining.

2. What book are you reading?

”A Thing of Beauty” by A.J. Cronin – This copy is a first edition more than 50 years old. I LOVE the smell of the pages almost as much as I am enjoying the words in front of me.

3. Favorite board game?

This is not really a board game, but I love playing Battleship. Mr. J cannot figure out how I manage to keep my little patrol boat hidden. He is convinced that I cheat. One day I will show him how I line them up.

4. Favorite magazine?

Sports Illustrated or Southern Living

5. Favorite smells?

Fresh cut hay, rain, lilacs, hot baked cinnamon rolls.

6. Favorite sounds?

TXSU’s (that would be Texas Southern University) marching band… Everyone should get a chance to watch and hear “The Ocean of Soul” live. I can’t wait for the next Battle of the Bands!

 7. Worst feeling in the world?

Hearing a Soldier had been killed and not knowing what area of Iraq my son was patrolling.

8. What is the first thing you think of when you wake up?

Do I smell coffee?

9. Favorite fast food place?

If I am giving in to fast food it would have to be a Wendys’ single with cheese.

10. Future child’s name?

I have several names picked out for my grand-babies. For the twins I like Alexis Nicole J. and Nicholas Aristotle J.       Hahaha, the names sound so good with our last name.  Thoroughly stuffy and pretentious.

11. Finish this statement. “If I had lot of money I’d….?

See # 1 in first meme… I have plans!

12. Do you sleep with a stuffed animal?

Only when Mr. J is not home.

13. Storms – cool or scary?

I love to sit on the porch and watch the storms roll in.

14. Favorite drink/Juice?

Orange Juice mixed with Sprite

15. Finish this statement, “If I had the spare time I would….”?

Put the base boards in my bathroom so that the room would FINALLY be finished.

16. Do you eat the stems on broccoli?

Sure, why not?

17. If you could dye your hair any color, what would be your choice?

The color that I dye it now… Med to dark brown with hints of auburn.  (Anything but gray)

18. Name all the different cities/towns you’ve lived in?

Lovell, Cody, Powell, and Worland, WY… Hebo, and Portland, OR … Elko, NV … Twin falls, Burley, and Filer, ID … Kingman and Bullhead, AZ … Needles, CA (home of Spike, Snoopy’s brother) Littleton, CO … Bay City, TX … Houston, TX   I am a Gypsy!

19. Favorite sports to watch?

Charger’s Football

20. One nice thing about the person who sent this to you?

She is an awesome woman who loves to cook healthy foods for her family. She also makes me smile with her heartfelt, funny blog posts. (And she has the amazing fortitude to stick to a diet!)

21. What’s under your bed?

Travel bags, abdominal crunch thingy that I used about three times, and a couple shoe boxes

22. Would you like to be born as yourself again?

Only if I could come back knowing EVERY THING I know now.

23. Morning person or night owl?

Morning person. By 7am I have washed a load of clothes, cooked breakfast, made the bed, showered, packed Mr. J’s lunch, fed the dogs and the fish, brushed my teeth (all of them!), dressed for work, drove to the office, and knocked out A/P.

24. Over easy or sunny side up?

Over easy and soft boiled smashed up with butter on a piece of whole wheat toast.

25. Favorite place to relax?

At the end of the pier at the beach

26. Favorite pie?

Pumpkin- pecan

27. Favorite ice cream flavor?

Ben and Jerry’s New York Super Fudge Chunk

28. Of all the people you tagged this to, who’s most likely to respond first?

I am not tagging anyone… Please feel free to jump in and do it as I would love to see your answers.

 

11 Responses to “Some More Me Stuff”

  1. trishatruly Says:

    Damn!! Now I want a piece of pumpkin-pecan pie sitting on a plate with a scoop of Ben & Jerry’s ice cream next to it…but Coffee Heath Bar Crunch for me please!!!

  2. joanharvest Says:

    If you win the lottery you are so unselfish with what you would do with the money. I want a big new house. Selfish woman I am. Jeez, I sound like Yoda. I love the sweeping when you’re angry. That’s something my sister would do. Nobody better leave me a basket of cookies unless they are calorie free, fat free, sugar free and sodium free. They might as well just leave an empty basket. I like baskets. You are right about all the holiday crap. That’s why for Mother’s day I chose to get plants and have the kids make the Oasis so we could all sit out there and enjoy it. We go easy on Christmas. My daughter and I make food baskets for everyone we give gifts to. We make homemade Tollhouse chocolate chip cookie, peanut butter balls, and some weird thing where you take chow mien noodles and mix them with chocolate and they taste great and another one with saltines and chocolate. Everyone always looks forward to those. We make about 20 of them.

    I can’t even walk by a Cinnabun place in a mall, The smell could drive me insane knowing I can’t eat one.

  3. betme Says:

    Trisha ~ I only make it for Thanksgiving… Swing on down and have a sllice with me come November.

    Joan ~ We thought about blowing thru our imaginary millions… But, think we would enjoy helping the youth instead. I will be sure to make your ‘happy basket’ just a basket. Your Christmas treats sound yummy. Before Christmas we should all do a recipe exchange.

  4. Sarah Says:

    You sweep when angry, I scrub. It’s weird but my grout has never looked better than when someone really pisses me off.

  5. Red Says:

    You sweep, I do laundry. And dishes. And cry.
    I looove Battleship!
    You do a lot before 7Am. you’re my hero!

  6. kaylee Says:

    I love what you would do with you lottery money 🙂

  7. K. Trainor Says:

    I love Battleship, too! The original, not the loud one with all the lights.

    You people do housework when you’re mad? Doggone, I’m missing out on a real source of cleanliness, here! When I get mad I tend to sulk. lol!

  8. kaylee Says:

    WHen I am angry I do chores LOL! Thats the only time i do those 🙂

  9. romi41 Says:

    This post was so rich with knowledge! So a few things…

    …there is such a thing as pumpkin AND pecan pie in one??? (*drool…)

    …I am SO with you on the random gifts at any time thing…have you noticed how much extra “glee” you get from the reaction of random gifts? 🙂

    …when I am mad I will fold/hang/organize every piece of clothing in my room (right down to making sure the coloured socks are grouped together in the drawer…LOL 😉 ), so I understand!!!

  10. Peter Parkour Says:

    All of you ladies are invited to my house next time you’re all pissed off. 😛

  11. Allison Says:

    Fun answers times two!

    *I like to people watch too.
    *Spending thousands at Christmas is insane.
    *I love that you have pretentious names picked out for your future grandbabies 🙂

Leave a Reply

