Part of the Reason

I have been in the dumps and am realizing part of my problem is where I live. I love my home. I feel so comfortable here. What I do not enjoy is the element that was washed in when Hurricane Katrina hit the Gulf Coast.

I have tried to remain friendly to our flood of hoodlums misplaced victims. I have tried to remain understanding of their plight.

Alas, I have failed. My new neighbors have trashed our neighborhood. We now wake up to new taggings on homes and businesses. We are constantly hearing police sirens in our once quiet area. And, I no longer have the luxury of walking my beloved dogs. It is just not safe. My dogs will protect me but are not capable of stopping flying bullets.

I miss my walks down to the bayou, letting them chase the egrets. I miss the fresh air. I miss stopping to chat with the other families, who used to be outside working in their yards. We have all become prisoners in our homes.

In the mornings I listen to make sure my dogs are quiet, for they will bark and growl when trouble is near. I then quickly jump in my car and lock the doors before starting the engine. In the evenings, it is the same in reverse.

Call me what you want, but I am praying for another hurricane to blow them back home. I want my neighborhood back.

*Side note* Not all the evacuees are scums of the earth. The decent folks have either moved back to New Orleans, or have acquired REAL jobs and reestablished their lives here. It is the leaches to society that are festering like a cancer in my ‘hood.

We have had three murders in less than 2 weeks, all within two blocks of my front door. I have proposed that we give them all guns and let them have a shoot-out at the OK Coral. Rules being that they have to keep it in the street and the last fool standing will win an all expenses paid trip to the country of his choice. (one way of course)

I wish they would take the time to read Kaylee’sΒ words and grasp the value of life.

I am going to the beach and will return in a better mood or Mr J has permission to feed me to the fishes. πŸ™‚

15 Responses to “Part of the Reason”

  1. Peter Parkour Says:

    I need to get one of those neighborhood watch groups going, and assign all participants a sniper rifle. 😈 I’m sorry to hear of your situation. Don’t let them get the best of you.

  2. kaylee Says:

    oH thats awful

    and betme if you want to send me something email me and i will give you an adress!

  3. kaylee2 Says:

    OMG YOU FREAKED ME OUT WITH THE MURDERS PART LOL!

  4. thegirlfromtheghetto Says:

    My girlfriend and her family were on vacation in New Orleans when Katrina hit, and were stranded in the Superdome for 3 days. They things she went through were utterly horrible, and I wouldn’t wish it on my worst enemy. I don’t know why any members of our society do the evil things they do, and I’m sorry that these bad people moved into your neighborhood. Yikes, can you move somewhere safer?

    P.S. I loved your guest post on Moonbeam’s blog.

  5. moonbeammcqueen Says:

    Oh betme, I wish you could have your home back as it used to be. The descriptions of it pre-Katrina are lovely.

    It’s similar where I live– dangerous and dismal, with lots of poverty and crime. I called the police on some poor crackhead at about 6:00 this morning because he was trying to destroy someone’s truck. It was as though he was taking out a lifetime of frustration out on this shiny green Chevy.

    Desperate people, desperate times. Poverty and hopelessness make some people insane.

    Hang in there. I hope you have a fantastic time at the beach!

  6. Wendy Says:

    Your dog walks before the evacuees sound so wonderful, geez I can really understand how you’d miss that. Ugh. It’s so disturbing what’s happened everywhere, and the murders in your neighborhood must be terrifying for you. I hope things change in your area, I really do.

  7. Couchptato10 Says:

    A recent study has shown that music from Hanson and The Jonas Brothers has reduced crime. So, blast some Hanson and they’ll probably move out. Criminals just can’t handle Hanson. Or Spice Girls, that’s another one too. They’ll be out of there in no time. Actually, I think everyone will leave. But the point is, no more crime will occur. So problem solved πŸ™‚
    (Hanson is horrible. So is Spice Girls. Good luck.)

    Loco

  8. Red Says:

    Yikes! Im sorry you’re having to live like this .. having to go through this, and Im sure nothing will ever be done about it either. It hasn’t been “fixed” yet, so why bother.
    I do hope that someday you can walk around your neighborhood without being in fear. I’ll send you some happy thoughts!

  9. kimiam Says:

    Betme,

    I came here from Moonbeam’s to give you a hug after I read your top 10.

    /me hugs you.

  10. kaylee2 Says:

    okAY WHERE are yOU????????

  11. joanharvest Says:

    Some Katrina evacuees ended up at the Air Force Base not to far from where I live. They were to live there temporarily until they could find new homes. When they were issued debit cards by the government, many of them went to WalMart and bought I-Pods and other such stuff, instead of saving the money and putting it towards things they really need.

    It must be so hard for you to live in the situation you are in where you don’t feel safe in your own neighborhood. I can’t imagine how that must feel.

    I like your idea about the shootout. Let them all kill each other. Well, it sounds like they are killing alright. Three murders in your neighborhood, that’s horrifying.

  12. romi41 Says:

    It sucks that you have to feel trapped in your own neighbourhood especially when before you were enjoying simple pleasures that most of us take for granted…nevertheless I hope your mood has improved ’cause I don’t wanna imagine a scenario where you’ve been fed to the fishes!!!! πŸ˜‰

  13. Allison Says:

    That sounds like enough to get anybody down in the dumps. Sheesh. I’m sure there are no easy solutions, but maybe something will come of your shoot-out plan.

  14. betme Says:

    Peter ~ I am not sure if I should call it neighborhood watch or go with Block Party in the Hood. People tend to avoid getting involved and might be more inclined to attend if I label the event a PARTY.

    Kaylee ~ I am sending you an email. πŸ˜‰

    Thegirlfromtheghetto ~ Thanks for stopping by. I cried when I saw the events unfolding at the Superdome. That is why I was all for helping out in any way possible. We spent a couple days reading to the children of evacuees at the Astrodome. I will have to go through some old letters and find the one that I wrote about Nate, a young evacuee.

    Moonbeam ~ We have some of the same neighbors. One is a crackhead that stops by on the weekends to wash our cars. This sounds cruel, but he reminds me of the stray dogs that my Dad always asked us to quit feeding so that they would go away. We feed our CH and offer him ice tea or sodas. He sits outside and talks with Mr. J for hours. Then Mr. J takes him back to his broke-down van-home and gives him a few dollars.

    This is out of the kindness of our hearts. He is now coming by 3-4 days out of the week to wash our cars and get a meal. When he runs up and begins washing the cars I feel the same invasion as when the guys at the intersections run up to wash my windshield.

    Wendy ~ I feel bad for my dogs. They don’t understand why their walks have been cut way back. I only walk them on the weekends now, when I have the time to load them into the car and take them to a better neighborhood to run and poop.

    Couchtater~ I have seen pictures of Hanson but never listened to their music. I would need to compete with neighbors who are playing loud Korean music on one side, loud Tejano music on another, and loud Rap on another. I have considered sharing some of my favorite classical music, to return the favor.

    Red ~ I have been dealing with it for the past couple years. Last week I let it get the better of me. But, we are house hunting out of the hood. Wish us luck!

    Kimiam ~ Thanks for the hugs. They are always appreciated.

    Joan
    ~ It appears the Katrina evacuees were spread like leaves in the wind. We had similar stories here of the people using their debit cards for tattoos, body piercing and parties at strip clubs. Oh but, sticking money up the butt of a stripper is probably a necessary expense. πŸ˜‰

    Romi ~ Don’t worry. Today I feel empowered. Pity the fool who gets in my way. πŸ˜€

    Ps. Mr. J decided not to feed me to the fishes because it would be cruel to feed them cranky bait. It might cause them to mutate into crazed fishes with attitudes.

    Allison ~ Thankfully the whiny-itous was a temporary condition and I seem to be healing without any residual side effects. πŸ™‚

  15. Crazy Pix: 04/06/08 « * * * HATE ~ & ~ ANGER * * * Says:

    […] Peter Parkour The following was inspired by a couple of posts over at BetMe’s blog (read here and here) and one over Moonbeam McQeen’s blog (read here). I believe they are in need of […]

Leave a Reply

