10 Things on Thursday

This might be fun. I am not sure if I can come up with a new list every Thursday, but I will try.  Ten Foods that I never tried before moving to Texas (that I absolutely love now) 

1. Chorizo and eggs ~ The yummy Mexican sausage is best when slightly greasy. The eggs absorb the oily goodness. It sounds awful, but I promise it is not. Wrap it in a warm flour tortilla and breakfast is ready. I now fix this at least three mornings a week. 

2. Gumbo ~ The Cajun/Creole version of stew. Yes, I even make my own roux now.  Toss in some shrimp, some crab meat, some chicken, and some spicy sausage… Delicious! 

3. Jambalaya ~ Similar to Gumbo, but with more rice, more peppers, and less liquid. 

4. Sweet Corn bread made with cream-style corn and honey ~ Shortly after moving to Texas, a chatty old man in the grocery store told me that I needed to add cream-style corn to my corn bread. I thought he was senile and just because I had to find out (if he was senile) I went right home and made the best corn bread I have ever tasted.  

5. Butter Beans and Rice ~ Actually, the same hold true for red beans and rice, and for black beans and rice. Growing up a Yankee, I never thought to serve a hot ladle of beans over a steaming pile of rice. Now, I can not eat them any other way.

6. Greens ~ Collards greens, mustard greens… etc. A staple in the home cooked soul food of Texas. I prefer spinach with a splash of balsamic vinegar.

7. Scrambled eggs with rice ~ I can remember the confusion I felt when my hubby asked me to add rice to his eggs. I thought he was joking. I found out from locals that many families do this. It was a way to spread out the eggs when feeding a large family. The fluffy rice is stirred into the eggs just before they are finished cooking, toss in a handful of shredded cheddar cheese and dig in!

8. Smoked brisket ~ Cooked in the pit for about six hours, with a hint of smoky pecan wood (my favorite), basted with my secret sauce.  As a Yankee, bar-b-queing consisted of tossing hamburger patties on the gas grill. Texas has well educated me on the fine art of proper bar-b-que etiquette!

9. Tabasco sauce ~  I am slow to come around to this one. It has only been in the last few months that I was willing to add it to my cooking. Now I am hooked. I am a softy and do not add it as liberally as Mr. J But I do enjoy the added kick.

Saving my favorite find for last…

10. Bananas Foster ~ Most people serve it over ice cream, but it also tastes great over French toast or bread pudding.

 Ingredients: – 1/4 cup (1/2 stick) butter
– 1 cup brown sugar
– 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
– 1/4 cup banana liqueur
– 4 bananas, cut in half lengthwise, then halved
– 1/4 cup dark rum
– 4 scoops vanilla ice cream
Directions:

  • Combine the butter, sugar, and cinnamon in a flambé pan or skillet.
  • Place the pan over low heat either on an alcohol burner or on top of the stove, and cook, stirring, until the sugar dissolves.
  • Stir in the banana liqueur, then place the bananas in the pan.
  • When the banana sections soften and begin to brown, carefully add the rum.
  • Continue to cook the sauce until the rum is hot, then tip the pan slightly to ignite the rum.
  • When the flames subside, lift the bananas out of the pan and place four pieces over each portion of ice cream.
  • Generously spoon warm sauce over the top of the ice cream and serve immediately.
22 Responses to “10 Things on Thursday”

  1. Peter Parkour Says:

    Having just started my diet recently, this post was brutal. Everything sounds wonderful to me, and I’m even hip to a few of the dishes. The pictures were the worst (looked so delicious). Still, I am strong, and I will survive these temptations, for now. 😉

  2. boundandgags Says:

    Boy, when you decided to eat like a local you sure go all out.

    There was this place I’d bring people to just to make them eat a bacon and egg pizza. I found it odd that no one ever told me to shove it. Oh, most had moments of doubt, but they all gave in.

    And they all liked it.

    I also have a can of anchovies in my pocket. My girlfriend hates ordering a pizza and the restaurant not have them. So, just in case, I keep one with me. This is mainly a fall/winter/spring thing. When the coats come off the bulge in my pocket is rather unsightly.

    How can you know you don’t like something until you try it? Keep sampling the cuisine!

  3. trishatruly Says:

    I think you have conquered Texas, girl! Half the fun of traveling is sampling the local cuisine.

    Damn you. I JUST happen to have a couple bananas on the counter and all the ingredients to make your yummy Bananas Foster.
    My hips grew just looking at the darned picture. Imagine what they’ll look like tomorrow after I eat myself sick on this!

  4. joanharvest Says:

    I’m with Peter. The pictures made me actually drool. I’m wiping it up now. But unlike Peter, I’m not on a diet. We weight watcher’s call it “learning a new way of eating”. Either way I don’t get to eat cheese and cream and sausage and pizza and the list goes on. But I am cooking Hungarian Goulash in the slow cooker, weight watchers style and I will serve it with rice and roasted vegetables with fresh rosemay. So it’s not all that bad.

  5. betme Says:

    Peter ~ Everything on the list is GOOD FOR YOU. Well, it is good for your soul and that is important. Just to rub it in, we are having gumbo and honey corn bread for dinner…

    Then you will need to slip over to Trisha’s for dessert.

    B & G ~ I read about a bacon and egg pizza and my first thought was not YUCK, it was Hmmm… I wonder what kind of sauce they use.

    (this is crude… hehehe) What pocket are you putting the anchovies in that has you worried about a noticable bulge?

    Trisha ~ We plan our vacations around different foods we want to try. Last fall friends asked why we were going to San Diego, and I explained that we needed a good carne asada burrito and a plate of rolled tacos with goat cheese.

    I hope you get a chance to make the bananas foster. Your hips will forgive you.

    Joan ~ I don’t know if I can compete with your wonderful HEALTHY cooking. As I have said before, your daughter is very lucky to have you at home cooking for them.

  6. kaylee2 Says:

    Hey Betme thank you for stopping by my blog and giving me the wishes I appreciate them alot.i am doing okay just cant walk without pain! I LOVE TO cook these pictures are making me hungry LOL

  7. betme Says:

    Kaylee!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am so happy that your surgery went well. (((((hugs)))))

    If you were close I would bring you some Texas goodies to help you with a speedy recovery.

  8. kaylee2 Says:

    LOL thank you Betme!!!!!!!!!

    I am not eating here i weigh 100 pounds and ned to be fat Lol!

  9. kaylee2 Says:

    dont need to be fat lol

  10. Red Says:

    Mmmm .. jambalaya is one of my most favorite things to cook . .and eat.

  11. betme Says:

    Kaylee ~ You should really let us put together a box of happys from Texas for you. As a Mom, you should just know it is my job to make sure all kids get plenty to eat. 😉

    Red ~ I prefer Gumbo, but Jambalaya is right up near the top in making my tummy smile.

  12. boundandgags Says:

    > What pocket are you putting the anchovies
    > in that has you worried about a noticable bulge?
    I lean to the left.

  13. moonbeammcqueen Says:

    I love southern cooking, and this all sounds fantastic! I’m with you– it’s good for the soul, and that removes at least 50% of the calories.

    I think B&G just coined a new pickup line– “Is that a can of anchovies in your pocket, or…?” Never mind. It’s late. I’ll shut up now.

  14. Lucky Says:

    ALL of those are YUMMY! I’ve had the privledge of eating Southern food my entire life. AND I get yummy fresh fruit when I go to Cali!! 🙂 I seriously need some Bananas Foster now…

  15. betme Says:

    Moonbeam ~ How did I miss your comment? 😀 Is that a can of…?

    Lucky ~ Ididn’t dare tell them what is in Chorizo… hahaha

  16. moonbeammcqueen Says:

    Oh no! What’s in Chorizo? I just made some last week! You’re scaring me.

  17. Lucky Says:

    Sometimes it’s better not to question meat. Kind of like bologna and spam…

  18. betme Says:

    Serously Moonbeam you do NOT want to know. just do like I do with hotdogs and just enjoy without knowing. 😉

    Lucky ~ I have never eaten Spam, but now I have the urge to try it. Perhaps googling the contents will change my mind and keep me spam free for life.

  19. Lucky Says:

    Brown each side a little in a frying pan. 🙂 Once a year, I crave a Spam sandwich. I don’t care what’s in it.

  20. betme Says:

    Lucky ~ The sure sounds like a Southern dish. I wonder what Mr J would say if I fix him a Spammich for dinner tonight?

  21. Lucky Says:

    He would LOVE it! Toast the bread and put some mayo on it. I’m not into lettuce and tomato but if he is, he might like that too! 🙂

  22. betme Says:

    Ah yes and a dash of Tobasco!

Leave a Reply

