Who’s on First – My office version

Language barriers can offer comic relief when viewed in the correct frame of mind…

Rrrrrinnnngg, Rrrriiiinnnngggg (that would be my office line)

Caller: You call me?

Me: Um, I am not sure. Your name please?

Caller: Why I give you my name? You call me!

Me: No, sir. You just called me.

Caller: You left message.  I call back.

Me: Sir, I did not call you. Perhaps it was someone else here in the office. Your name please?

Caller: (yelling) I not tell name. You call me!

Me: (playing 20 questions) Sir, are you in the construction field?

Caller: (ignoring my question, asks one of his own) You make sponges? (At least I think that is what he asked. His Asian accent was very hard to understand.) 

Me: No sir, we are an electrical contractor.

Caller: Then why you call me?

Me: Sir, I can only guess that it was a mis-dialed call.

Caller: OK, you tell him I call back.

Me: Who should I give this message to?

Caller: (again yelling at me) You call me!

Oy! My head is aching.

Me: OK, I will tell him that you called.

I printed a memo and placed it on every desk:

The man you may or may not have called regarding the sponges returned your call.

11 Responses to “Who’s on First – My office version”

  1. boundandgags Says:

    You called that guy too!

  2. betme Says:

    NO! He called me! 😉 😀

  3. Red Says:

    Well noone has called me back yet!
    😐

  4. Couchptato10 Says:

    hahahaha I love messing with people on the phone. Nice one :p

    Loco

  5. trishatruly Says:

    You are sooo patient! I would have hung up on the crazy, ranting creepazoid!

  6. Peter Parkour Says:

    I would have busted up laughing at he dude. That is crazy funny. 😛

  7. betme Says:

    Red ~ I should have known it was you. You had me fooled, pretending all this time to be Irish. 😉

    I think I will make a post of my favorite ways to mess with people on the phone.

  8. Allison Says:

    I’m dying to know what he wanted to know about sponges. Was he trying to find super-absorbant spunges? Was he concerned about an anti-bacterial additive? We’ll never know now, since you didn’t have the decency to answer his simple question 😉

  9. betme Says:

    Gosh Allison, who knows? A co-worker poked his head in my office and asked if this guy left a number. I asked if the call was for him and he said, “No, I just want to call him and explain basic phone rules.”

    I imagine if I would have asked for his number, he would have screamed, “You have my number. You called me.”

  10. moonbeammcqueen Says:

    Heehee.

  11. DNR Says:

    haha – “I printed a memo and placed it on every desk:” that is clasic!!! Love it!!

Leave a Reply

