Whaaaa-Fuckin-Whaaaa

That is what goes thru my head whenever I hear someone whining about the blah-blah-blah of their life. Seriously, we all have our day-to-day drama. The whiners bore me. (Hah, I had to correct my typing as I wrote boar me the first time)

So rather than have y’all rolling your eyes and mumbling whaaa-fuckin-whaaaa at me, I will just say:

I have been sick. It drained me physically and mentally. Now I am GTG… Good To Go!

I will not falsely claim that I am mentally sharp, but that is only because I might not have been extremely sharp before I was kicked in the butt with the sickies.

Moving on…

I am now faced with mountains of work at the office. I can see the dumpster from my office window and I am tempted to try throwing a few files in that direction when my co-workers go for coffee.

Here is a gem that I was faced with this morning. Keep in mind that I work for an electrical contractor. We install wiring for schools, offices, tenant build-outs in strip centers… etc. Some is new construction, some is remodel work… Basic blah, blah blah stuff.

Yesterday I submitted a bid for an extensive remodel project. Today I receive an email from the business. They are requesting that they get credit for the old wire. I explained that we will not give them a credit for the wire as we do not reuse old wire. IF THEY would like to keep the wire to sale for scrap, that is their right. The man insisted that the wire could be used again and we should not charge him for new wire. OY!

He then suggested that we reuse the conductors. (I know this is might be Greek to those who are not in the electrical field… sorry) But, it was hard to keep a straight face with the man. The conductors are MELTED to the conduit.

Now I believe in being thrifty…. I do!

I wash out my sour cream containers and reuse them for leftovers. My plastic grocery bags are reused as bathroom trash can liners. Leftover roast is turned into tacos or enchiladas. When I shower, I will hang my towel up to dry and use it a few times before I dump it in the hamper.

But crap… Their are limits. 

For fun, I would like to see what others recycle, reuse, refuse to throw away.

As for the refuse to throw away category… I have a red sweat shirt that my hubby threatens to toss out EVERY time I wear it. I love this shirt. It is comfort food for my soul in a clothing kind of way.

I am not sure why he fosters such animosity towards this shirt??? It cannot possible be the years of paint splotches or the thread-bare elbow area… Nor could it be that I love to wear it in-side-out.  I only wear it at home (cuz, I don’t want some fool to shirt-jack me.)

*Shrugs*

I’m just saying… “Mr J, if my sweat shirt goes, your beloved Chargers vs Niners Super Bowl hat is going bye-bye as well.” I don’t care if that was the year the Chargers finally made it to the Super Bowl. If you mess with my shirt, you will find little pieces of your hat in interesting places.

Don’t test me.  -P

9 Responses to “Whaaaa-Fuckin-Whaaaa”

  1. Sarah Says:

    I’m glad you’re back. Hope your case of the sickies is better. And as for thread-bear sweatshirts, I have one of those too, and my Mr. keeps making the same threat. I think it’s just something for them to say.

  2. joanharvest Says:

    I’m so glad you’re feeling good again. I missed you. I was hoping you were laying on a beach in a warm tropical climate drinking some exotic drink. It sounds more like you were laying in bed drinking ginger ale.

    I recycle a lot but I’m not a fanatic either. It sounds like that guy you were dealing with at work was a moron not a person who wants to recycle. I am so happy I don’t have to deal with the public anymore.

    And keep that red sweatshirt. I have a T-shirt from a now defunct bar on the Cape that I got in the early 70’s. I’m just waiting for the day that it fits me again. I’ve lost 66 pounds now. I will wear that shirt again.

  3. betme Says:

    Sarah ~ That is wrong for them to stress us with trashing our beloved sweat shirts! I was wearing my sweat shirt yeaterday when he made the same threat… Something along the lines of throwing it out when I took it off. So I slept in it! hahaha

    Joan ~ I like your vision of where I was much better than the real picture. The tropics sound heavenly right now…. hmmmmm… Sorry, I drifted off thinking about sipping margaritas on the beach…

    You are right about the guy. The economy is tightening and people are looking for ways to cut corners. I don’t suggest cutting back on quality of objects that can burn your building to the ground. (just MHO)

    66 LBS!!!!!!! That is fan-freakin-tastic!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Red Says:

    Yep . .. the Mister and I have that same conversation over my bestest pair of Chucks and his most favoriteist boxers. If one goes missing, we know why . . . and he willll pay for it, oh yes ..

  5. Red Says:

    Oh geez, forgot … so glad to know you’re well again!

  6. moonbeammcqueen Says:

    I recycle Tom’s old shirts. I love it when they get old and soft and worn, because it becomes MINE! Sometimes they’re sleepwear, sometimes daywear, as long as I’m staying indoors.

  7. betme Says:

    Red ~ Mr J threw out my favorite pair of shorts just because the crotch had a big gaping hole. I mean WTF???? 😀

    Moonbeam ~ Oh YES! I love sleeping in Mr J. old t-shirts. They are so soft. He mumbles about all the lacy nighties that are folded up neatly in the dresser. I think men should try sleeping in scratchy-lacy nighties.

    I think the ultimate outfit would be old flannel pj bottoms, one of Mr J’s old t-shirt, and my fuzzy slippers. Ahhhhhh… an excellent office outfit.

  8. Peter Parkour Says:

    Welcome back, glad to hear you are feeling better. We missed ya. 😉

    When my favorite pair of sweatpants were ready for retirement I cut the legs off, not to make shorts, but to make hats out of the pant legs. I them a few rolls and bam, I have a nice hat for the winter. It even covers my ears and keeps them warm. :mrgreen:

    People are always telling me they like my hat, or asking me “what the hell is that on your head”.

    I still have the rest of the sweatpants, so I guess I could wear them as shorts.

  9. betme Says:

    Peter ~ we need pictures of your creativity! I think the people in Gary, IN would have been excited to see your cool hat.

Leave a Reply

