The Numbers Win Again

Substitute the word Numbers in place of the word Mountains in this song….

Seriously, I have nightmares about spread sheets… columns of endless numbers, waking in a panic, afraid I have lost .02 in debits. If my numbers do not match to the Penny, I am driven slowly off the deep-end.

It is funny that I am laid back on so many issues, yet obsessive about minuscule numbers that will never effect life in the long run. 

…And my brain is still a bit fuzzy…

So, here I sit…

Adding columns of numbers. Staring at the last number that I entered into the adding machine, wondering if I actually entered that number yet???

5722… that number seems so familiar… I think they are the last four digits of an old phone number…

2347… It would be more interesting if the number were 2345…. Oh hell! Did I just add that as 2345 or did I enter it as 2347?

99.03 …. That would be .97 short of 100%

Is any of this relevant?

Nope.

Will it be important to me .97 years from now? How many days is .97 years?

Good grief I need to focus but my brain is on tangent mode…   

9 Responses to “The Numbers Win Again”

  1. Red Says:

    Dammit. Im confused now. My brain hurts.

  2. moonbeammcqueen Says:

    LOL. Red is now posting my comments for me. I was thinking the exact same thing.

  3. betme Says:

    hahaha… Do you remember the scene in Alice in Wonderland where the cards are dancing around and coming after Alice? Yesterday it was the same for me, only it was numbers that were on the attack.

    Say Red, would you post comments for me as well as Moonbeam?

  4. Peter Parkour Says:

    .97 years = 354.05 days. :mrgreen:

  5. betme Says:

    Excellent! Now do you mind helping me finish this spread sheet?

    Wait… How long is .05 days? 😀

  6. Allison Says:

    I know this feeling EXACTLY. One trick I have learned if my debits don’t equal my credits: If the number I’m off is divisible by 2, then I could have entered a debit as a credit or vice versa; if the number I’m off is divisible by 3, then it could be a transposition. This has saved my butt a million times…especially the 3 trick, as I tend to transpose a lot.

  7. betme Says:

    Thanks Allison! 🙂 I too transpose numbers. I appreciate the tips for finding my .02’s. Now I need a tip for finding my lost marbles.

  8. Allison Says:

    I think my imp ate one of your marbles last weekend. It has since been recovered, but I don’t think you want that one back. I am not kidding.

  9. betme Says:

    Allison ~ 😀 😀 😀 ummm… Thank you for locating one of my strays. I respectfully request that you keep it in case you too lose one.

Leave a Reply

