For Mario

My dear friend Mario was recently diagnosed with pancreatic cancer. Mario is also my plumber, the same plumber who saved me from total embarrassment with the boss: The woeful tampon tale 

Mario is just…. Well, hell… He means a great deal to everyone he touches. His surgery went well and he sounds good. We are as optimistic as possible.

But last night I broke down and cried. Mario is much like a dad to me. He drops by on a regular basis just to grab a cup of coffee and chat. His oldest son is a Navy SEAL and he enjoys telling me of his adventures. His youngest son just sang at the White House with his high school choir.

Mario loves to joke about fixing the plumbing at a whore house around the corner. Listening to him tell of the desire to douse himself in bleach afterwards and walk thru a car wash…

Simply hysterical the way he can spin it.

Damn it. I wanted to call him when I took my bathroom apart. He is so good at walking me thru my projects.  

 

(Yes, I even pulled the toilet… three layers of nasty flooring… and rotten wood)

I am sure that I can do it, but I want to hear his voice… More so, to know he is ok.

Out of complete frustration, I started beating on my drain pipes. Yes, I used a hammer. (A plumbers tool of choice… not!)

(I beat the daylights out of it…)

And today I am going to use a jig-saw… Mario, I need you to get better. My bathroom needs you to get better.

Shit! I don’t care about my bathroom…

Just keep fighting. We love you.

8 Responses to “For Mario”

  1. moonbeammcqueen Says:

    I’m so sorry. Mario sounds like a wonderful friend. I’ve lit a candle and said a little prayer for him.

  2. Red Says:

    Aw, how sweet .. he sounds like a real trooper!

  3. Allison Says:

    I will add Mario to my nightly prayer with my daughter.

  4. betme Says:

    Thank you for the prayers and kind words. Today I am going to take him some pictures of my destruction in the bathroom. I am hoping he will not tear out any stitches from laughter.

  5. SK Says:

    I am so sorry for your friend, Mario sounds like a wonderful man. If things get too bad, call my house. Hubby is a plumber 🙂 He does good work long distance, just ask LL!

  6. betme Says:

    SK ~ Thanks! But please don’t tell your hubby that I am using a hammer and jigsaw on my pipes. He will think I don’t stand a chance. 😉

  7. ARGH…. « DisIsMyPlace Says:

    […] My dear friend Mario  has retired and is not physically able to make house calls. Not that I would ever bother him with […]

  8. No Holding Back « DisIsMyPlace Says:

    […] Holding Back My dear friend  Mario the plumber came by the office yesterday afternoon. Mario is a breath of fresh air in my smoggy city, the sun […]

Leave a Reply

