Why do I go there?

Sometimes I hear a particular song and it will take me back… Way back… back into time…

(OK, that is part of another song, which I love)

… And sometimes I will hear a song and I am caught up in the here and now…

… and sometimes I hear a song and I think, “That is the song that I want to have playing when I die. Morbid perhaps?

This song is just one of those songs…

“Like a bird on the wire, 
Like a drunk in a midnight choir 
I have tried in my way to be free.

Like a worm on a hook, 
like a knight from some old fashioned book 
I have saved all my ribbons for thee. 
If I, if I have been unkind, 
I hope that you can just let it go by. 
If I, if I have been untrue 
I hope you know it was never to you

Like a bird, free

Don’t cry no more

Don’t cry

It’s completed, oh, it’s paining

It’s been paid for

Like a bird, free

I’m free…

3 Responses to “Why do I go there?”

  1. moonbeammcqueen Says:

    Beautiful– both the song and the video! I don’t think it’s morbid to think of your funeral song. It’s a nice mental exercise, trying to find a song that sums up a part of who you are.

  2. joanharvest Says:

    Aaron Neville is one of my favorite singers. His Christmas album is all we play at Christmas. I wouldn’t mind them playing that song at my funeral.

  3. betme Says:

    When I first heard the song, It moved me. I was very depressed and thought how free our souls must feel when we are free from the worries of the world.

    Last night I brought up this post with my hubby. Death freaks him out. Well, my death freaks him out. He always throws in humor to ease the mood. He grinned and explained that when I die he is going to have me stuffed and mounted. He is going to place me in the livingroom and have a recording of me nagging, so that he will not feel so lonely. 😀

Leave a Reply

