Quirky is as Quirky does

I’ve been tagged by Sarah and I have issues with the thought of leaving people hanging (figuratively). Rather than go into my deep seeded issue, I will just say: If you tag me I MUST respond even if it takes months. The guilt will never fade completely.

The rules are:
* link to the person who tagged you
* post the rules on your blog
* share six non-important things/ habits/ quirks about yourself
* tag at least 3 people at the end of the post and link to their blogs
* let each person know they have been tagged by leaving a comment on their blog

So, my people are:

LL @ Chromed Curses

DNR @ What?

Red @ Dr Pepper for the Soul

     1.) I don’t panic under duress. I once carried on what resembled a normal phone conversation while I was impaled on a fence. I saw no reason to worry my husband while he was driving. Once I hung up the phone I blacked out for a bit because of the searing pain. 

     2.) My deepest phobia is being crushed by tons of concrete. So I do my best to never sit in traffic under an overpass. I will run a red light to keep from sitting under the rumbling traffic over my head. I keep my windows rolled up so that I cannot hear a Semi-truck pass over my head. The very thought can send me into a panic attack. This can make my commute in the concrete city very tricky. I would rather eat a spider than sit for any length of time under the ‘tomb of death’.

     3.) I once spent an entire day (at work) making a ransom note that I sent to my son’s commanding officer in Iraq. This note earned me the mark of one of the funniest, if not insane, parents of a Soldier in my son’s unit.

     4.) I cannot stand the taste of coffee but still drink about 4 large cups a day because I find it very soothing. In fact a cup before I go to bed helps me relax and fall off to sleep.

     5.) I have eaten ‘road-kill’. In high school my girlfriend hit a pheasant and we stopped to see if it was still alive.  Nope! So we did the only right thing. We brought it home, cooked it, and ate it. There, I admit it. I am Couuuuuuntry!

     6.) I have pulled a calf. No, this is not related to tipping a cow. (which I have witnessed but never done) Pulling a calf consists of sticking your arm way up into the back-end of a pregnant cow and helping her turn the breach calf. You then help her by pulling while the cow delivers the calf. This is extremely messy, But, perhaps one of the most awesome nature inspiring events that I have been a part of. It is extremely weird feeling her contract her muscles with your arm inside of her. The experience was almost enough to make me a vegetarian… Nah, wouldn’t happen.

19 Responses to “Quirky is as Quirky does”

  1. LL Says:

    Oh my. That last one caused my tummy to quease a bit. LOL

    I’ll try to get to it later today. Yes, it’s a snow day. No, I don’t want to work. So I’m going to take a nap now. hahahaha

  2. Lucky Says:

    HOLD ON! You were impaled on a fence? WHAT THE HELL? I want to hear this story…if you wish to share.

    And yes…you are couuuuuuuuntry.

  3. Wendy Says:

    Okay, I stumbled over here but as soon as I started reading I was hooked. And I’m with Lucky … you were impaled on a fence?! I want to hear this story too!

    You are hilarious.

  4. betme Says:

    In short – I am a klutz. I will write a post about some of my ‘accidents’ tonight. Tomorrow you can grab your popcorn and prepare to LOL at my expense. 😉

  5. DNR Says:

    Hummmm… I may have to get someone to help me out with this. ‘Cause I don’t have any quarks. (LL & Kat, you just hush!!!)

    As far as your 6…

    1 – Umm, yeah, that’s called shock. Seems you may have been quite lucky.
    2 – hahaha!! I WANT to see you eat a spider!!
    3 – Nice!!
    4 – HAH!! Me to. (ok, so this is one) I just add lots of sugar and cream.
    5 – Ummm…. OK so this is two… ‘cept mine was a squirrel.
    6 – When I was 9-10 I watched a still born calf get pulled. I remember that guy (vet?) going in up to his shoulders. And, yes… VERY messy.

    Guess I’m couuuuuntry too!!!

  6. betme Says:

    Ummmmm no… I mean Hell no! I am not eating a spider to prove myself. I will only do it to save myself from falling concrete! 😀

    If I want to prove I am badass I will settle for the worm in the Tequila bottle.

  7. LL Says:

    Ok, I got it done. 😉

  8. DNR Says:

    Mine is done.. err re-done too.

  9. Lucky Says:

    I look forward to it. 🙂

    You should know, I fall down a lot. More than normal people should. I used to think it was b/c I was top heavy but now my bottom is just as heavy as the top so I really have no excuse.

  10. Red Says:

    hahhaaa!!! Road kill .. now I kinda sorta understand why you weren’t turned off by my microwaved pigeon!

  11. betme Says:

    hahaha.. I should add #7 ~ Talking about periods, poop, vomit, road kill etc do not bother me while I am eating. However, my hubby would like to throttle me when I do it. I think it comes from having so many brothers who were all thoroughly disgusting. My mom used to hold her hands over her ears and mumble, “Not dinner conversation. Not dinner conversation…”

  12. Wendy Says:

    Isn’t that weird the way some people can’t handle discussing poop and periods, vomit etc. while they’re eating? I just don’t equate what I’m saying with what I’m doing. For instance, I can watch a baby being born on TV while I eat dinner, but my husband just freaks out. Jeezus. You’d think he’d gone through a bad labor or something.

  13. betme Says:

    Bwahahaha… Wendy, we could have so much fun together, tormenting (innocently) our hubbies durning dinner.

  14. Sarah Says:

    I totally understand your phobia but mine is driving over bridges. I’m sure this comes from an overactive imagination that helps me picture the 12 car pile up with me at the end being thrown from the bridge and into the water below. It isn’t a fear so much of the bridge as the being knocked unconcious and not able to save myself if I end up in the water.
    My brother in law and myself say that we love coffee but don’t want our coffee to taste like coffee!

  15. betme Says:

    Sarah ~ They make a coffe that does not taste like coffee. I think it is called hot cocoa.

    Bridges do not bother me, but my friend refuses to drive over them. We are retarded when we go out together. I wont go underand she wont go over. We might as well sit in a parking lot and take our chances with muggers.

  16. indianamatt Says:

    I love #6. That had to be a great feeling!

  17. Allison Says:

    Regarding #3, did you get a medal for that letter?

  18. Quirks. Six of ‘em « DrPepper Is Good 4 The Soul Says:

    […] I was tagged to do a meme by the chickie o’er at Dis Is My Place. You know the rules . . . Post 6 random quirks about yourself, share with the class. Don’t be […]

  19. betme Says:

    Matt ~ It is AWESOME once you get past the fear of being kicked and the thought that all of this stuff may never wash off. Sensing the cows pain and fear… offering her a soothing voice and rubbing your other arm across her back… you can almost feel her trust in you. And then the relief that floods over both you and her when the little one finally pops out.

    There are times when the calf is sacrificed to save the cow. It is so sad and I guess why I was so excited when we were able to save them both.

    Allison ~ hahaha! No medals are given out to crazy parents. In fact my son and his buddies made a point from then on to watch for and censor any mail from me.

    When my son returned from Iraq this last time, he surprised me by giving me all of his service coins. The coins are given to the guys for different missions or things that they do while in Iraq. I was very impressed and oohed and aahed… He just shrugged with his normal impish grin.

    I need to dig thru my boxes of stuff (that I fully intend the put in a scrap book one day) and find the copy of the ransom note.

Leave a Reply

