I am a bad Parent

… Or so I have been told. And this time it was not by one of my sons, which is kind of nice.

My ever so gorgeous, wonderful, caring, hardworking (holding down two jobs), college enrolled son called and informed me that his girlfriend of 4 plus years is pregnant. This would be son number two, who is 20… Son number one, has informed me that now that son number two has spawned, he is free of all responsibility of providing me with a grandchild.

Back to son number two who I will refer to as JD… JD and Melissa have been an item since forever it seems. No one was surprised when they moved in together two years ago. And many, myself included, knew it would only be a matter of time before they got married and started a family. They have both discussed and want children.

When I got the call yesterday I screamed out in delight. Now of course it would be easier on them if they were finished with college… And it might have been more appropriate had they actually said their vows BEFORE producing. But, he is his momma’s child and therefore is bound to do things backwards from time to time.

That being said, he is a good kid. Having worked at Safeway for a number of years, he has worked his way up the ladder and will be interviewing for a Manager position next week. He also puts in a number of hours working at a machine shop along with his classroom schedule at ASU. He works hard, sets goals, and strives to better himself. (yeah, I brag a lot)

… I think I did all right in the parenting department, or at least I thought so until a coworker berated me.

It seems I should have chewed his butt. Let him know that I was not happy. Maybe thrown in an explicative or two about his trampy girlfriend to punctuate my point.

But, that would all be lies. I am not mad and his girlfriend is FANTASTIC! I cannot wait for the arrival of the little bundle of joy.

14 Responses to “I am a bad Parent”

  1. Peter Parkour Says:

    Congratulations! You are such a good momma. :D

  2. thegirlfromtheghetto Says:

    Your a gramndmother!!! Congratulations!

  3. Wendy Says:

    This is FANTASTIC! Congratulations. And why on earth should you have chewed him out? We’ve all done it. Okay, maybe it’s just everyone in my family…but if everyone in my family had done things in the “correct” order I don’t think any of us would be here. I think your reaction was awesome, and I think you’re gonna be a fabulous grandmother!

  4. Taoist Biker Says:

    Your coworker can kiss m’butt. They’re happy, they’re stable, they’re good kids. They’re already better off than your average married couple. Yeah, finishing college would have helped, but they’ve got a good support network. They’ll be fine.

    Congratulations, grandma!

  5. Just a Mom Says:

    Bad parent my right ass cheek! I would have told your co-worker where to go and how to get there! At least when I got home I would! :)

    Congrats on the new addition to you family! I love how son #1 has declared he is now free from spawning.

  6. romi41 Says:

    I love when people place their moral highground on others….a new life is on the way, and that’s wonderful in my eyes! :-) And OH MY GOSH, you’re gonna be a grandma!! How exciting, as you’ve told me about this anticipation for grandchildren the one or two times you’ve mentioned me becoming a future DIL (to the other son, haha ;-) )

  7. joanharvest Says:

    Chewed his butt? No Way!! I am so excited for you. We can be grandmas together. When is she due? I am just so excited. Oh, I already said that. I am thrilled. Another baby!! Woo Hoo!!! I’m jumping for joy (not really but I am thinking about jumping). I ain’t gettin’ off my chair. We can share grandma stories. Happy days!!! I just yelled it out but I’m alone . The cats are happy too.

  8. Kaylee Says:

    YAYA

  9. Sarah Says:

    Congratulations!

    Who gives a flying f*** what order things are done in? Yes, it would have been easier if they were done with school but they aren’t and they will figure it out. Besides, it sounds like they have a supportive family to help them through this. I’m really happy for your family. :)

  10. trishatruly Says:

    Having been the unmarried-and-pregnant girl-child back in—way back when– I can tell you that your co-worker was way outa line. I hope you gave him that old “kiss my grits” stare!!
    With a mom like you and a brilliantly grand girlfriend, your son will only be more blessed with this child.
    Congratulations to all of you!!

  11. the Grit Says:

    Hi b,

    Your coworker needs to be reminded of the term, “going postal.” Best of luck to the young ones.

    the Grit

  12. Allison Says:

    Congratulations to you!! (and I hope you don’t have to buy that co-worker any kind of Secret Santa gift)

  13. Cat (Food Coupons) Says:

    One of the things I love most about kitties is that they read your feelings so correctly.Then the wittle furballs without fail make you feel better :)Go Kitties!

  14. Mary Ann Says:

    You sound like a GREAT mom! I was always so in awe of my mom’s attitude to me getting pregnant unmarried and (very!) young – she was thrilled! She was 1 of those people who just love babies and even in my situation her joy was totally unhampered. I haven’t known many moms who would respond like her so when I read your post I had to say kudos to you for your great attitude :o)

    Love your blog, BTW! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

