The Jury is still out…

Deliberations will continue as there is still a certain amount of doubt derived from his claims of innocence.

Let me take you back to the scene of the crime…

Yesterday I made a valiant attempt to clean the mounds of leaves from my flower beds. The daunting task was made more miserable by the cold swirling winds which redistributed the leaves nearly as fast I piled them. Not to be defeated, I learned to rake and speed-scoop in a fairly effective manner.  

Feeling slightly guilty for watching football while I toiled in the wintry storm, Mr. J would occasionally come out and offer advice. (not help… just creative words of wisdom) Such as; “You should hold the bag so that it fills with wind as you are dumping the leaves in.”

Alas, the cold got the better of me (it must have dropped close to 60 degrees) and I went in for hot cocoa.

It was about this time that the Chargers BF’d another game and the slew of potty-mouth verbage could be heard throughout the house. I decided that now would be a good time to start dinner.

Alas, I looked at my kitchen floor and being that I am easily distracted decided to sweep my floor before cooking. I had left my dustpan outside and needed to retrieve first… Once I was outside, I decided to put the last pile of leaves in he bag…

About halfway thru my scooping I heard the back door open and thought the fabulous Mr. J had come out to give me a hand. No such luck – I once again heard the backdoor close and knew he had gone back inside. No problem, I should only be another 5 minutes and I would be inside as well.

WELLLLLLLL…. That is how it should have ended. As it turned out, I reached the back door and tried to open it. It was locked!

I did the logical thing; I knocked and I knocked and I knocked. I then proceeded to knock on all the windows downstairs, peeking into the windows that had the blinds cracked. Nadda…. Being that I was still very logical in my thinking; I grabbed the net for the pool as it has a 10 foot pole on it and I began tapping on all the upstairs windows.

All my efforts were in vain. I did not even see a curtain move inside. So, I moved on to plan “B” I began hollering at various windows. The only response I received were curious looks from the elderly couple across the street. (Damn, I was hoping to refrain from becoming the circus attraction in our new neighborhood.)

I had now been outside for close to 30 minutes. Because I had not intended on making it an outside adventure, I was no longer wearing my shoes and the cold was making me a tad bit irritable. I eyed Mr. J’s truck in the driveway and contemplated breaking out a window so that I could have a semi-warm place to sit during my banishment.

Ah-ha! I was in luck (well if you discount the fact that I was locked out without my shoes and Mr. J appeared oblivious) his truck was unlocked. I honked the horn a couple times, thinking that might draw his attention to my perilous circumstances. Nadda, nadda, nadda. Only more stares from my neighbors.

Well Hell… Feeling more than a tad bit unloved and forgotten, I decided that I might as well finish cleaning out the remaining flower beds. Sooner or later Mr. J would get hungry and come look for me. Or if he ordered a pizza I could slip in with the delivery.

About halfway through the last flowerbed, Mr J came out and asked if I minded taking a break to cook some dinner. (you do not want to know the ugly words that crept into my brain at that moment)

Mr J claims that he thought I was upstairs taking a nap when he locked the door. It was only after he got hungry and went upstairs to check on me that he noticed I was not in the house.

I am not buying his story… I think he was sneaking from room to room watching me knocking and yelling for help, all the while laughing his ass off. I think it was only his stomach begging to be fed that had him coming to my aide.

The best part… (depending on how you look at it) was the questions he asked me: “Why didn’t you have your keys with you.”

Why would I take my keys with me when I go to the back yard for a dustpan?  

“Why didn’t you have you cell phone with you? You could have called me.”

Uh yeah, I often go to the backyard and call you on my cell phone. It makes a lot more sense than coming inside and talking to you in person.

I was only going out for the fricken dustpan….. Grrrrrr….

In case you wondered, I used extreme restraint and I stopped myself from dropping his chicken on the floor a couple times before dinner.

8 Responses to “The Jury is still out…”

  1. Just a Mom Says:

    This is just too funny! I am glad I am not the only person that gets locked out of her own house! We have a habit of locking our backdoor when we come in and I have been locked out of my house several times!

  2. msmollie Says:

    You handled that sooo much better than I would have.

  3. Wendy Says:

    Sorry, but this is laugh out loud hilarious. And it’s so TYPICAL…he didn’t look for you until he started wondering about dinner! But what’s also really funny is your sitting in the truck and figuring you might as well finish cleaning the flower bed. I would have been sobbing and letting my rage build until I could unleash it on him when he finally came looking for me.

  4. BoxcarOkie Says:

    My wife “instinctively” locks doors behind her, I don’t know why, but she does. The last time (the only time) she did it we found ourselves locked out of our home for six hours, waiting on the kids to get home so they could come over and unlock us in.

    Now we have “two sets” of keys stashed in secret locations on the property.

    BCO

  5. kaylee2 Says:

    ha

  6. Peter Parkour Says:

    Such a well tempered lady. I would have beat the door down. :)

  7. Sarah Says:

    *Laughing wildly*

    I locked myself out once before my husband and I had cell phones. I went to check the mail without socks or shoes on. It was the middle of November and my husband was at work. Lucky for him because I can’t be sure I would have shown the same restraint that you did.

  8. Shweta Says:

    I know what it’s like to get locked out, I was getting my dads birthday present from my car…sadly he will not be suprised anymore!seriously, what neurotic person needs their cell to stay on your own property!?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

