Straight from the Heart

The other night we were laying in bed just enjoying each others company. I was resting my head on Mr. J’s shoulder and running my hand across his chest. My finger tips lingered on his scar and I slowly traced it from one end to the other.

I could feel J tensing … and I said, “I love your scar.”

The hesitation was in his voice when he asked what I was talking about… Was I joking? Why would anyone love something so ugly?

“Aw baby. It is not ugly at all. Every time I run my fingers down your scar, I am reminded of how lucky I am that you are alive and in my life.”

For thirty-eight years J has tried to hide his scar, too embarrassed to take his shirt off around others. Years of hearing the laughter and ridicule.

But, I can only smile when I trace my fingers across it… Because he is ALIVE!

Slowly, I traced my fingers up to his face, across his lips, and to his cheek. I felt the tears that silently moistened his eyes…

My heart ached… so many years of pain welled up inside that beating heart… covered by a scar, a scar that should be his badge of honor… A scar that shouts to the World, “This wonderful man is Alive.”  

J took my fingers and kissed them.

I love this man and his many scars, for they make him complete.

7 Responses to “Straight from the Heart”

  1. Just a Mom Says:

    awwww…I need a tissue now.

  2. trishatruly Says:

    Thirty-eight years of hiding it? Oh, my heart breaks for him!
    The love of a good woman like you must surely go a very long way in healing those painful memories. Bless you both.

  3. Peter Parkour Says:

    You are just oh so sweet. That J is one lucky man, as are you one luck lady. :)

  4. kaylee2 Says:

    AWWWW I need a tissue tyoo! I love you guy!

  5. Sarah Says:

    Awww…:)

  6. Allison Says:

    Yowzer, you’re a good wife!

  7. msmollie Says:

    So beautiful!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

