This goes in the Nuh-uh file

I would not be surprised if you do not believe me, because I would not believe me if I had not witnessed this with my own eyes:

Last night Mr. J and I had a meeting downtown. It was on a street which we were not familiar so we decided to scope out the area early, find the building, grab a bite to eat, and then head back in time for the meeting.

We found the building about an hour before our meeting so we decided to stop in at Popeye’s for some yummy fried chicken and red beans & rice. Lucky us, Popeyes has a special on Tuesdays and you can get 9 pieces of dark meat for 4.99. This was wonderful as we both love legs and thighs. (although I doubt we could eat 9 pieces, we were up for the challenge)

The drive thru line was long and we had plenty of time to spare so we went inside. Whew, only three people in line ahead of us!

Then, my mouth dropped open… The lady in the front of the line ordered two 9 piece orders and an additional EIGHTY pieces of chicken. We stayed just long enough to make sure we had heard her correctly, yep, a total of 98 pieces. Holy crap-o-la! Even if they had enough chicken to cover her order and enough to fill the two other orders ahead of us, it would take FOREVER to for our measly nine pieces to be cooked.

We darted across the street and had tacos… But I had a good laugh when Mr. J said, “That woman had no business ordering 98 pieces of chicken, knowing full well she could not eat more than 50… 60 max.”

Yes, we are just awful.

11 Responses to “This goes in the Nuh-uh file”

  1. joanharvest Says:

    I hope to hell she was ordering it for a party that included other people. And if she was she could have had the courtesy to call it in ahead of time. Even at my best I could never eat 98 of anything except maybe Reeces pieces. You guys aren’t awful, you’re just telling it like it is.

  2. Peter Parkour Says:

    I’ve place a big order before, for a get-together, and boy does Popeye’s get pricey quick. You did the right thing to turn around and head out, because even on a good day Popeye’s is drag-ass-slow. But damn them red beans and rice are good. :P I’m a big fan of legs and thighs too, but of the chicken variety. ;)

  3. trishatruly Says:

    I wonder why she didn’t just say “100 pieces”. Why 98? I mean, leftovers, people! Leftovers! Am I right?

  4. Don Smith Says:

    Do you want fries with that?

    hahahahahaha

  5. K. Trainor Says:

    “…knowing full well she could not eat more than 50…60 max.”

    BAhahahahahaha!! My hubby would’ve said something like that, too. I think we may be married to the same man. :D

  6. Taoist Biker Says:

    She forgot the bbq sauce.

    How many pieces are there per chicken? 8? 10? So that’s 10 or 12 whole chickens? I remember hearing a guy I used to work with talk about watching a man eat two whole chickens in a sitting on a bet, and that sounded like a hell of a lot to me.

  7. Khodu Says:

    Nice One

  8. kaylee Says:

    I dont believ you ;)

  9. trishatruly Says:

    I left something for you over at my place…. :D :D :D

  10. the Grit Says:

    Hi B,

    In these dark times it’s not a bad idea to stock up on dark meat.

    the Grit

  11. Sarah Says:

    Who doesn’t call ahead for an order like that??

    Of course now I’m totally craving fried chicken.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

