We are slipping away…

This will be an abbreviated posting week because Mr. J and I have finally gathered together enough of our loose marbles to coordinate a 4-day weekend!

 

A weekend at Bernie’s… No wait, there will be no dead bodies, just Mr. J and me; swatting skeeters, sipping brew, and passing out nekkid. (Hopefully in our cabin and not in a paddle boat on the lake)

 

 The Lake

 

We asked D (boy child numero uno) to come with us, but he ardently declined. He may have even thrown in a few curse words to make his point.  Something was muttered about living in a tent for 30-something months in Iraq and there was no way in hell he would ever camp again on purpose.

 

He sees no need to purposely subject himself to an uncomfortable bed, mosquitoes, charred food, and lack of proper plumbing. And then he smirked about whether or not our cell phones would get service, the lack of television, and no internet connections.

 

I am stumped because those are the very reasons I want to go. We will not be plugged into anything or have anyone dependent upon us for four blissful days. I want to be lulled to sleep by the drone of nature. I am anxiously anticipating the adventure of chopping my own firewood, grilling burgers over the coals, and making S’mores.

 

Seriously, that boy is not right in the head. Who, in their right mind, could ever turn their back on the opportunity to indulge in the melty goodness of S’mores?  

Smores

 (this picture ganked from www.loveandoliveoil.com/2007/09/homemade-mars… )

 

I know deep down that he wants to go with us, but he also needs a break from watching his mommy and daddy play kissy-face.  

 

Even Mr. J is into the spirit of the campout. I asked him to stop by Spec’s to pick us up a couple bottles of wine and or some good beer for next weekend. He came home with six bottles of wine, three bottle of champagne, a large bottle of Gray Goose, a bottle of Crown Royal and a couple six-packs of Grolsch beer. Do you think he is trying to tell me something? Egads, one of us will need to be sober enough to paddle the boat and beat off   …

 

 The Strangers.  

strangers

10 Responses to “We are slipping away…”

  1. Girly Says:

    I’m with your son on this one….I’m more of an indoor girl.. I love to go fishing…but, at the end of the day I want a nice comfy bed, air conditioning, and a shower… and I like being “plugged in” :lol:

    Hope you two have a wonderful time… it’s always nice to get away with your sweetie!

  2. Just a Mom Says:

    I am right behind you! We are planning a camping, if renting a cabin can be called camping, in 2 weeks. I figure not having a tv or computer is considered roughing it enough!
    What a great combination: Champagne & Smores! Yum! :)

  3. Don Smith Says:

    Have a nice whatever. Dont get any on ya, as they say up here.

    DS

  4. Allison Says:

    Your boy is smart. You can make s’mores in the microwave.

  5. joanharvest Says:

    We used to camp out for 2 weeks every summer in Maine with the kids when they were little. I miss those days. There’s nothing like sitting around the campfire at night with a bottle of wine.

    You two have a great time!!

  6. Taoist Biker Says:

    I think it sounds like a blast, but I have to say I understand where he’s coming from.

    Have fun, I’m jealous!

  7. msmollie Says:

    Sounds fantastic. Every post I start to like Mr. J more and more. My kind of camper.

  8. Sarah Says:

    I’m with your son, my idea of roughing it is going away without my blow dryer. Have fun though, and be careful. I’ve learned from experience that fires and alcohol don’t mix.

  9. Wendy Says:

    I kept stumbling over the “and beat off…” about five times before I saw the movie photo.

  10. mistermanly Says:

    Hi b,

    Good luck and happy times with your trip. My wife and I don’t camp. Well, unless someone pays us to sleep out in an area afflicted with drought. We have a most impressive record at rain making in this manner. We do have to exercise extreme caution, however, as the last time we actually fell asleep in our tent, several tornadoes passed through the area, along with enough rain to cause minor flooding. Usually, the mere act of pitching our tent is enough to generate at least two inches of precipitation. Once, we thought about camping in Death Valley, just to test the extent of our power, but decided such might upset the laws of nature.

    Mister Manly

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

